• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Wiring speakers and anti-phase problems

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, sorry for this newb question but I need an answer tailored to my situation for me to best understand the right way to do it.
I am doing an open baffle project(in the design phase) and I am new to speaker building. I have chosen a couple speakers for the job. I have narrowed the woofer down to two different sizes from acoustic elegance the dipole 15 and dipole18. The dipole 18 has two voice coils (16 ohms each) wired in parallel to equal 8 ohms and the 15 has two 8 ohm voice coils wired in series to equal 16 ohms. So that means the dipole 18 should be treated as an 8 ohms speaker correct? And can be wired with another of the same ohms in parallel to equal 4 ohms?
I don't understand the principle behind wiring in series and parallel in a loudspeaker. Wouldn't they be anti-phase? Wouldn't the volume and sound quality be affected since I am using a woofer/full range driver open baffle?
If I have one full range 8 ohm plus woofer 8 ohm plus woofer 8 ohm what would it equal? 2.7 ohms?
if two full range and two woofers equal 2 ohms?
I know some amps will drive this, but in the future choosing amps will be hard. It takes a quality amp with good cooling to drive 2 ohms, right?
Do I bi-amp? Use multiple amps, one for full rangers and one for woofers?
What about an amp with two sets of out puts per side? Wouldn't that amp be seeing 2 ohms still?
I just need to know how to wire this speaker without affecting the sound quality.